Underage Drinking -
21 - It's The Law.
You should know that your driving
privelege will be suspended if you are convicted of:
* Lying about your age to obtain
* Purchasing, consuming, possessing, attempting to purchase, or
* Carrying a false I.D. card.
You will be charged as a criminal
and have a criminal record.
Alcohol related driving
* First Offense - 90 days.
* Second offense - 1 year.
* Third and subsequent offenses - 2 years.
(Any multiple sentences imposed shall be served
Even if you don't
have a license and get
caught drinking or carrying a false I.D.
you will be penalized.
You will be unable to apply for a
learner's permit for the time period of the suspension. For youth under
16 or without a driver's license, penalties go into effect when the minor
applies for a learner's permit.
In addition to driving privelege
suspensions, you may pay a fine up to $500 and the police are also
required to notify your parents.
The court may require that you
successfully complete a program of alcohol education, intervention, or
counseling. You must also pay a $25 restoration fee before you can get
your license back or be considered for a learner's permit.
Remember, you don't have to be in
or near a car, have a driver's license, or be old enough to drive for the
laws to apply. Just being caught with a false I.D., drinking, being
intoxicated, transporting alcohol, having alcohol in your possession, or
just attempting to purchase will result in the suspension of your driving
Underage Drinking Laws
Also Affect Those Over 21!
Any adult who buys alcohol for
anyone under 21 - even their own children - or anyone who makes or sells
false I.D. cards may receive a mandatory fine of $1000 for their first
offense and $2500 for each subsequent offense.
An adult who supplies minors with
alcohol may also be liable for any resulting injuries and/or property
damage caused by the minor.
Driving Under The
In Pennsylvania, DUI offenders who
are minors (18 to 21 years old) are processed like adults while offenders
who are juveniles (under 18 years old) are processed through juvenile
court. Penalties for juvenile offenders may differ from adult DUI
offenders. Anyone under the age of 21 driving with a blood alcohol content
of .02 or higher can be charged with DUI. This law states that any person
over the age of 18 arrested for driving under the influence
* will be required to complete an
Alcohol Highway Safety coures.
* may face a license suspension of one year, 48 hours in jail, and a fine
up to $500.
* will pay all additional costs such as high auto insurance and court
If you are under 18 and stopped
for DUI you:
* may be arrested and detained for
blood, breath and/or urine testing.
* will have your parents notified of the arrest by the police.
* may have a juvenile complaint filed against yuo within 5 days.
* may have your fate decided by juvenile authorities.
Think Before You Drink!
Sixteen years is a long time. Why
risk being convicted of a crime that deprives you of your driving
privelege and could possibly cost you money and time in jail? Is it worth
it to throw those sixteen long years away with one drink? Remember, if
you are under the age of 21 and drink alcohol, you face consequences that
could cost far more than you imagined.
Stand Tall, Walk
Away From Alcohol!
The PLCB offers a
variety of alcohol education materials free of charge.
For more information please contact us at:
The Pennsylvania Liquor Control
Alcohol Education Center, Room
Northwest Office Building
Harrisburg, Pa. 17123-0001