Our Lady Of Loreto Lady Lions
Diocesan Champions (1982-1983)
Record: 42-0

1982-83 Our Lady Of Loreto Lady Lions -
 JV team.

1983 Diocesan Champions - Loreto Lady Lions

Front Row: Wendy Ganser, Melissa Talak, Maureen McConnell, Michele Talak, Amy Favero.
Back Row: Coach Bill Egan, Abby Nassif, Jeanine Wertz, Tina Vezendy, Keri Acquaro, Peggy Alexander.

Loreto Finishes Season 42-0

Our Lady of Loreto's junior varsity girls Diocesan basketball champions climaxed an undefeated season by defeating St. Sebastian in the final game of St. Joseph's tournament to win the championship, 31-25.

To get to the finals Loreto beat St. Louise De Marilac, 35-26, St. Franci, 35-10, St. Elizabeth, 38-22, and St. Barts, 27-16.

Loreto finished the season with a 42-0 record.

Team members include: Maureen McConnell, Michele Talak, Tina Vezendy, Melissa Talak and Keri Acquaro.

Additional team member are Amy Farero, Jeanine Wertz, Wendy Ganser, Abby Nassif and Peggy Alexander. The team is under the direction of Coach Bill Egan.

* Reprinted from the Brookline Journal - March 23, 1983 *

Lady Of Loreto Wins Diocesan Championship

The team from Our Lady of Loreto School in Brookline won the diocesan sixth grade girls basketball championship with a 37-25 victory over St. Barts, Penn Hills.

It was a hard fought victory as Loreto fell behind 13-4 at the quarter and were still losing 17-15 at the half.

Loreto took control of the game in the second half as the defense held St. Barts to eight points while they scored 22 points. Loreto showed a lot of character and poise in coming from behind to defeat a fine St. Barts team and stay undefeated.

* Reprinted from the Brookline Journal - March 16, 1983 *

* Material provided by Michelle Talak *

<Local Schools> <> <Brookline History>