Brookline Knights Football Association
The 2006 8-Under "Twerps"
Record: 11-1

Knights With A "Never Say Die" Attitude

The Brookline Knights 2006 8-Under team rang up an incredible string of eleven victories in a row on their way to the SSYFL Divisional Championship. Several of these victories were tough defensive struggles, and these Knights defenders were adept at holding their opponents ball carriers without bail. The offense, led by running backs Taylor Thornton, Loren Wicks and quarterback Joey Shulik, worked hard every game. They always managed to find a way to get enough points on the scoreboard to emerge victorious.

This was never so true as in the Divisional Playoff game against West Mifflin when, with time running out and down 6-0, the defense made a critical stop, giving the offense one last chance to find the endzone. The "Never Say Die" Knights pulled it together and gave Thornton the crease he needed to weave his way in for a score. Shulik took the ball the final three yards for the conversion to propel the team to the championship game.

The following week, against a tough Steel Valley team, the NSD Knights did it again. Trailing 2-0 in the fourth quarter, the Thornton/Shulik duo struck again, putting eight points on the board and laying claim to their first SSYFL title.

Loren Wicks, Nick Manuel and Aaron Owens
show off their championship plaque.

Brookline's youngest Knights headed to the SSYFL Super Bowl with high expectations, but despite a valiant effort, fell prey to the Carlynton Cougars, 14-6. It was a sad day for Coach Mike Manuel and our proud Knights. But, with a Division Championship to their credit, these boys have a lot to be proud of, and their "Never Say Die" attitude bodes well for the future of the Knights football legacy.

For the season, Taylor Thornton led the Knights offense in scoring with a total of seventy-six points, followed by Loren Wicks with thirty-eight and Joey Shulik with thirty-two. Cody Cerminara chalked up twelve and Nick Manuel contributed eight. Matt Tonkovich added six and Amaree Hatcher added the final two. Shulik tossed one touchdown pass to Cerminara.

2006 8-Under Team

The Brookline Knights 8-Under Team
2006 SSYFL Conference Champions!

Chadric Anderson, Corey Bogaski, Mason Bowers, Cody Cerminara, Nicholas Deanes, Dylan DiRenna, Ronnie Dunlap, Christopher Elstner, Christian Frazier, Tyler Gettings, Matt Haskins, Amaree Hatcher, Luke Jacobs, Austin Liebro, Dalton Link, Nick Manuel, Tyler McSuley, Michael Naccarelli, Ian Newman, Aaron Owens, Damon Reft, Mark Roell, Quentin Rudy, Cole Salicce, Morgan Samuels, Joey Shulik, Kenny Stalowski, Kevin Stover, Taylor Thornton, Matthew Tonkovich, Adam Tonry, James Vensel, Jr., Zachary Wagner, Lucas Wentzel and Loren Wicks. Coaches are Mike Manuel, Carl Roell, Darrell Frazier, Joe Tonkovich and Dean Haskins. The team MOM is Jen Haskins.

Game Results

Game 1 - Brookline 28 <> Avonworth 6
Game 2 - Brookline 8 <> Carlynton 0
Game 3 - Brookline 14 <> West Mifflin 6
Game 4 - Brookline 6 <> North Hills 0
Game 5 - Brookline 6 <> Char Valley 0

Game 6 - Brookline 24 <> Brentwood 0
Game 7 - Brookline 28 <> Southside 6
Game 8 - Brookline 30 <> Fort Cherry 16
Game 9 - Brookline 8 <> Baldwin 0

<Photos - Brookline vs. Carlynton - September 3, 2006>

<Knights News and Game-By-Game Scoring Summaries>

SSYFL Divisional Playoffs

Brookline 8 <> West Mifflin 6

SSYFL Divisional Championship

Brookline 8 <> Steel Valley 2

SSYFL Super Bowl

Carlynton 14 <> Brookline 6

Photos from the Divisional Championship Game
* November 4, 2006 *

Coaches and players gather
around the 2006 SSYFL championship
trophy. It was a heartwarming moment
on an otherwise bonechilling day!

Head Coach Mike Manuel holds
the championship trophy. The kids
earned it, but they couldn't have
done it without the dedication of
the coaching staff and Coach Mike.

Joey Shulik and the Knights
put the CRUNCH on Steel Valley.

<Past Champions> <Knights History> <Brookline History>